Robert Jordan Changed My Life

I’ve been writing since I was six. But what I was writing could barely qualify as writing. My “stories” played out like a bad video game strategy guide. Slash enemy. Climb the wall. Meet the Boss. Kill the Boss. Move to Stage 2, etc. I would give my character a lightsaber and have at it with imaginary villains. This went on for a while.

Then I read Robert Jordan’s Eye of the World. Suddenly there was a cohesive whole, a harmonious structure that sang beautifully. It was the first time I realized that words could be elegant, that it was an orchestra flowing with meaning. There was more out there than my childish conceptions of writing. It challenged me to create something better out of my early work.

From thereon in, I was a Robert Jordan fan. I followed the model he laid out. I studied the nuances of his writing and incorporated it into my own. I realized I could take my perspective and translate it so that the general populace could understand. I still read Jordan’s Conan the Barbarian novels as warm-up for serious writing.

Sefiros Eishi: Chased By Flame is the pinnacle result of all my years of writing. It’s a labor of love that I’ve spent many a countless night on. If any of this has interested you, then you can order the book at amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com. Thank you and good day.

Leave a Reply

