The First Sefiros Part Two

As you may have guessed, there is a character named Sefiros in the Sefiros Eishi: Chased By Flame novel. Spoilers about the book limit what I have to comment, but there are a few things I can mention. The name Sefiros is inspired by the Final Fantasy VII (videogame) villain Sephiroth. The term comes from the Kabbalah, in which the Sephiroth are the ten attributes in which God reveals Himself. An alternate translation of sephiroth is the sefirot. I simply replaced the “t” with an “s” because the term was cool to me.

Another aspect of the name’s creation is related to how I pronounce the term. I pronounce the name as “se-fear-ros” instead of “se-fir-ros.” Again, the alternate pronunciation of the word appealed to me more than the official word structure. In my mind, the name was always “se-fear-ros.” This is a piece of fiction; I can sound it out whatever I want.

Getting Sefiros’ reference to the audience was difficult due to the fact that Chased By Flame was originally the first act of a six act book. Since Sefiros’ identity was a necessary mystery, I needed a way to introduce him to the reader without giving any hint of his ultimate role. So I created Sefiros Cayokite.

Sefiros Cayokite is a fictional folk hero based off Miguel de Cervantes’ 15th-century hero Don Quixote. Quixote was a bumbling old man with delusions of grandeur about his status as a knight in service to the land. Like Quixote, Cayokite upheld knightly ideals in a world where such actions are no longer importance. I used Cayokite as a springboard for ideas that did not fit with the medieval world in which Chased By Flame takes place. If I needed the concept of time travel, then I used Cayokite as a reference. It was the same with doppelgangers, parallel universes, and other such “modern” fiction. I even created a tale that mimicked Star Wars and Doctor Who characters.

Cayokite gave me a way to introduce the name of the character early on in the story without giving away the identity of its bearer. It also allowed me to present lead character Mykel’s awkward social leanings; i.e. he kept himself sheltered by questioning what Cayokite would do in any difficult situation. As the story goes, Mykel relies on Sefiros less, while still keeping the Sefiros name front and center. That was the key to the character. The Sefiros character is ultimately different from Cayokite, yet Cayokite’s image as a knight retains the heroic identity that Sefiros will eventually take over.

Leave a Reply

